&Follow SJoin OnSugar
This blog has moved. Please Visit http://iamnymphette.com Today is Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Challenge Calendar - Drugstore Challenge & Review of PhotoReady Foundation

Jan16

So here is my Drugstore Challenge look. I just picked up Revlon's PhotoReady in Natural Beige after avoiding it for so long. I finally caved when it was BOGOF at Rite Aid. I am not a huge fan of liquid foundations so this was a stretch for me. I usually use a tinted moisturizer or a mineral foundation.  On with the review...

 


 

Packaging is awesome, love the sanitary pump. It's also a very controllable pump. You can get as much or as little product as you need unlike some pumps. The foundation itself seemed a little watery for a liquid foundation. I applied it with a stippling brush and it went on pretty effortlessly. I would recommend moisturizing before using this foundation. It will highlight dry areas. I don't find it too "glowy" or "shimmery" at all. I do find it ironic that this foundation is called PhotoReady being that it photographs terribly in my opinion.  The flash will reflect off the "light reflecting particles" in the foundation.  I would call this a medium coverage foundation that is definitely buildable.  I actually have added moisturizer to it for a lighter coverage.  The foundation does have an spf of 20 in it which is a bonus.

I think this foundation is totally worth a try.  People seem to either love it or hate it so wait until it goes on sale!

 


With flash (notice the "shimmer")

 


asian PhotoReady Natural Beige
Natural Light

 


Natural Light

 

 

Share |
posted by
1/16/10

your skin looks flawless! and you have perfect eyebrows too :)


posted by
1/17/10

@liana123 - Yeah thanks to the PhotoReady!!! hahah.... And my eyebrows are not perfect before my daily routine. I've had some requests on how I do my eyebrows. I think I'll put it on my list of to do's...


posted by
1/27/10

I love your bone structure. Your skin is flawless. I will be checking out your blog, now.


posted by
1/27/10

I have a bottle of this stuff just sitting on my desk. I think I will return it because I had a bad experience with Revlon Colorstay. But it looks good on you.


posted by
1/27/10

I love this foundation. I was between two shades and went with the darker, which is why I think it photographed better.


posted by
1/27/10

@belleressa - Awww thanks love. Although my skin looks flawless because of the PR.

@GummiBears - Do try it!! Let us know how it works out for you!

@SanDiegoLove - Makes sense. It does have SPF in it...


posted by
1/28/10

Thank you for the review. I currently use Maybelline's dream liquid mouse foundation, and so far it's my favorite drug store foundation. I saw the commercial for this and was instantly curious to try it. Now I'll be watching those sale ads for sure!


posted by
1/28/10

@mgiorgi420 - This was my first drugstore foundation ever!! Let us know how it works out!


posted by veeveeone
1/28/10

@nymphette: hi! :D i was thinking of buying this product but the only thing is, i have dry skin. after i take a shower, my skin feels really dry so i apply on a moisturizer so that my face wont feel so dry. and then i apply my powder foundation. is this photoready foundation good for dry skin? and since im considering of buying it, i would like to know first if its also good for dry skin too. and i dont know what shade i should buy it in. (fyi: i use Sephora's matifying compact powder foundation in D34 warm caramel) i hope that info is helpful to u. what do u think i should do in my case?

btw, love ur eye brows! :D


posted by veeveeone
1/28/10

@nymphette: hi again! sorry i know i was being rude for asking for ur help & opinion without saying please. im sorry.. if u can PLEASE help me, i would appreciate it sOo much! thank u! :D


posted by
1/29/10

Yes, I agree I love your eye brows. do you provide makeup tutorials in youtube? That would be really helpful too. Thanks!


posted by
1/29/10

@veeveeone - I have pretty dry skin in the winter and I've noticed that PR does accentuate that if I don't moisturize properly. I've actually started to where PR mixed with moisturizer and it's perfect that way!

@mavessie - Thank you love... I do have a youtube account but have not started taping tutorials yet. I have gotten a lot of requests. Maybe when I get over my nerves lol


posted by
1/29/10

No problem! I will keep checking your site for your eyebrow tutorial. :) You're skin is also so flawless. I was wondering what your skin regimen was and if you use any concealers to hide any blemishes. Any recommendations? Anyway, I'm trying to get into mineral makeup. I am presently using lumiere since bare minerals made me break-out. The only thing is it doesn't really cover some of my blemishes. What do you think about lumiere mineral foundation? And how would you compare it to sheer miracle (I read your post about that). Thanks!


posted by
1/29/10

@mavessie - I honestly don't have a fancy skin regimen at all. I use Boots cleanser, toner and moisturizer. It's actually a little embarrassing that I don't do anything fancy lol. The concealer that I do use if I'm using concealer that day is Amazing Cosmetics concealer in Medium Beige. LOVE IT! I also use it to conceal any redness around my nose and darkness under my eyes. I've actually reviewed Lumiere's foundation and it is definitely one of my favorite mineral foundations!!! Sheer miracle is a touch "drier" than Lumiere. I love the dewey, sheen that Lumiere gives. Nothing over the top... Hope that helps!


posted by BreatheEz
1/30/10

What foundation color did you use? Im always afraid to go to and by drugstore makeup because I have no idea what color I am. How did you determine your color? Thanks!


posted by
1/30/10

Hi Nymphette! Thanks for all your advice! I will be checking your site regularly to see if you have posted the eyebrow tutorial. No pressure though. Take your time. :D Your makeup is amazing!


posted by
1/31/10

@BreatheEz - I honestly just guessed based on what I normally use. I got Natural Beige.

@mevessie - Thank you so much! =)


posted by Ahsley
2/02/11

My mom bought this foundation for me, im very happy. I founded very nice review here
youbjutiful.blogspot.com/2011/02/revlon-photo-ready.html


If you are already an OnSugar member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are made, please login or register for OnSugar.
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.

About Me

Email Subscriptions

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Google Friend Connect

Follow me on Twitter!

Ask me anything!!!!